Movie Review: Captain America Civil War (No Spoilers)

I went to see Captain America last night.  I admit, this wasn’t my number one film to see this year.  That spot was reserved for Batman v. Superman and I’ll get to comparing the two in a little bit.  Nonetheless, I was anxious to see the movie since I had read the Civil War comic series and loved it.  I wanted to see how the story was interpreted to the big screen in one film.  I went in with low expectations for screen adaptation but was very happy with how it turned out.  Obviously with it being Captain America’s movie the plot revolves around him, but as always Robert Downey Junior isn’t far away reminding you that he’s really the one in charge of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.  You have most of the holdovers from Avengers Age of Ultron – Cap, Ironman, Black Widow, Hawkeye, The Vision, War Machine, and Scarlet Witch.  I will admit though, that I missed Thor and Hulk, but the addition of Spiderman and Black Panther make up for it.  And whether you liked his movie or not, Paul Rudd as Antman will quickly become a favorite secondary character.  

Now I know exactly what everyone wants to know. How does it compare with Batman v. Superman? It’s doesn’t, and here’s why.  If fans were to write a script Captain America Civil War would be it. It’s goal is pure entertainment and I feel that they have sacrificed story and plot to drag out movies and milk movie goers dollars.  Batman v Superman is written and directed to tell the story of the characters in a way that challenges you as the viewer.  Yes, Zack Snyder got sloppy and confusing with the flashbacks, but the raw emotions of the title characters are on full display.   Every time Cap or Tony start to get real, there’s sure to be a quick one liner to break it up and keep it from getting heavy.  Marvel just scratches the surface on the depth of their characters, giving you enough to remind you they’re people, but not really human.  Like those dads telling their 6 year olds “real men don’t cry, man up and get back out there”.  DC does the opposite and throws all the struggles and conflicts of it’s characters in from the opening frame.  Marvel’s cinematic characters aren’t conflicted, where DC’s are.  Marvel’s movies will always end with a “happily ever after” feeling, especially when you wait for the after credits and some hilarious cameo by Stan Lee.

I love a movie that leaves me with my mouth open at the end, scratching my head wondering what in the world just happened.  Films that make me want to watch them over and over again to figure out what I missed.  Captain America Civil War takes a good step in that direction, but really at the end all it does it make me look forward to the Avengers Infinity Wars when all the characters are brought together.  I don’t feel like I MUST come back for the next chapter.  And whether you loved or hated Batman v Superman, you have to admit, you’ll come back because you gotta know what happens next.

Leave a Reply

