Facebook Faith Won’t Get You Into Heaven

I hate memes that pressure you into proclaiming your faith on Facebook.  It seems like a guilt trip for insecure Christians.  You read through it and think “Oh no, do my friends on Facebook know I’m a Christian?  What if I don’t share this and I go to hell?”.   It’s like all those chain emails saying if you don’t forward it to 20 friends, someone’s puppy will die or something.  Deep down your friends on Facebook know who you.  And sharing a meme proclaiming your love for God isn’t going to all of a sudden change their perception of you.  And it won’t change God’s perception of you either.

Faith takes more than a couple of words to get you into heaven.  What I see over and over are the people who feel guilty that they claim to be Christian, yet falter in the daily steps of walking with Jesus.  But after they posted this to their timeline what did they do?  Did they log off, pick up a Bible, and spend some time with the Savior for whom they just proclaimed they love?  Most likely they kept scrolling through their newsfeed and to watch the video of the sloth on the speedboat?

James 2:18-20  says “But someone will say, “You have faith, and I have works.” Show me your faith without your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.  You believe that there is one God. You do well. Even the demons believe—and tremble!  But do you want to know, O foolish man, that faith without works is dead?”  Even Satan believes in God.  Accepting and denying God takes more than sharing a random meme on your Facebook timeline.  It takes more than the occasional confirmation that you’re not an Atheist, which is basically all most people do.  Knowing and accepting Jesus as your savior comes with a greater commitment.

Jesus describes how he will separate the sheep from the goats by whether they fed the hungry, clothed the naked, and visited the sick.  He says “By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” (Jn 13:35).  Later the apostle Paul confirms that there will be people who “profess to know God, but with their deeds they deny him” (Titus 1:16).

I have plenty of friends whom I can trust to share a quote or text or something meaningful everyday from their daily commitment to God.  They share thoughts from their devotions and post pictures of how they are serving others.  Those individuals I rarely see posting these things.  There’s no need to.  I already know who they are and their commitment to their faith.  And more importantly, so does God.

One thought on “Facebook Faith Won’t Get You Into Heaven

  1. I am Christian but I don’t feel obligated to participate in those Facebook posts. Nothing in the Bible says that I will go to hell if I don’t post things that profess my faith. It is overwhelming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

