Prayer of a Young Christian

Dear Lord,

The world is a scary place anymore.  Not just because of all the violence and hatred, but because of how religion fits into all of it.  It’s so hard to make sense of it sometimes.  One pastor says “do this” while another says “don’t”, both claiming to be Your messenger.  It’s so confusing.  So much is done in the name of religion or in the name of un-religion.

Don’t let me lose sight of you, getting grumpy, old and mean as I grow.  Don’t let me look for ways to scare others into believing in You.   Don’t let me believe I have all the answers and stop asking the questions that bring me closer to you.  Don’t let me lose the awe and wonder of the moment I first met you.

Help me to love without question.  To serve without expecting anything in return.  To seek you with all my heart.  To see the world through your eyes.  May my heart be broken by the things that break your heart, and moreso help me to want to do something about it.

You have changed my life and I want to change the world around me.  I want to be Your messenger, living life as You would have me and bringing Your Kingdom to those I meet.

Amen

Leave a Reply

